Monthly Programs and Dates
 
*All reservations are handled by
Mary Merrill mfrances515@aol.com
Telephone: 518-523-2933
Payments must be sent to: 
Garden Club of Lake Placid
PO Box 984, Lake Plaid, NY 12946
Before stated deadline
$ = Payment Required Prior to Deadline Date
R = Reservation Required Prior to Deadline Date
Because of limited capacity, reservations for Aug. 14 Cruise and Sept. 25 Summit Whiteface will be taken by Mary Merrill starting from previous MEETING of each event.
If you require further information or have questions pertaining to a particular program
please contact the Chair for the Event, not Mary Merrill.

Wednesday, April 24

4:30 - 6:30 PM 

 

Thursday, May 9

9:00 AM

Wednesday, May 15

4:00 PM

Saturday, May 18

9:00 - 10:00 AM

Tuesday, May 21

2:00 PM

 

Wednesday, May 22

12:30 PM 

Wednesday, May 22

5:00 PM 

 

Sunday, June 2

 

Thursday, June 6

1:00 PM

Wednesday, June 19

4:00 PM

Thursday, June 20

9:00 AM

Wednesday, June 26

4:30 - 6:30 PM

 

 

 

Tuesday, July 2

2:00  PM

Thursday, July 4

5:00 PM Start of Parade

 

 

Wednesday, July 10

1:00 PM

Tuesday, July 16

3:00 PM

 

Wednesday, July 24

4:00 PM

Wednesday, August 14

5:00 PM

 

Wednesday, August 21

4:00 PM

Sunday, September 8

5:00 - 7:00 PM 

 

 

 

Wednesday, September 18

4:00 PM

Wednesday, September 25

12:30 PM

 

 

 

 

 

 

Thursday, October 3

1:00 PM

Thursday, October 10

9:00 AM

 

Tuesday, October 15

2:00 PM

Wednesday, October 16

5:00 - 7:00 PM

 

Wednesday, October 23

4:00 PM

Tuesday, November 19

2:00 PM 

Wednesday, November 20

Noon - 2:00 PM

Thursday, November 21

10:00 - 12:00 PM

 

Sunday, December 8

5:30 - 7:30 PM

 

Tuesday, December 17

2:00 PM

 

 

 

APRIL

MEETING: High Tea in Wikoff Room of Mirror Lake Inn

Honor new members; Grown in Lake Placid: video presentation 

Coffee, tea and hors d'oeuvres provided: cash bar

Chair: Linda Friedlander

Please bring new member/guest

MAY

ADOPT-A-HIGHWAY

Meet at Simply Gourmet parking lot, 2099 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid.

Bring gloves. Long pants and sturdy shoes recommended.

 

TRIANGLE GARDEN sponsored by Lake Placid Pub & Brewery

 

 

VILLAGE CLEAN-UP

Meet at Mirror Lake Beach House on Parkside Drive 

Free lunch for all.

(rain date Saturday, May 25)

WORKSHOP: Elderwood at Uihlein

"Spring Has Sprung" theme

Bring hand clippers.

MEETING: High Falls Gorge

Annual business meeting and luncheon $21

*R$ Friday, May 17

Chair: Carol Fox 

ARBOR DAY

Meet at Jewtraw Park to assemble seeding packets and enjoy festivities.

JUNE

COMMUNITY DAY: North Elba Show Grounds

Garden Club will man a table.

PLANTING AND CLEAN UP: Memorial Garden at Elderwood of Uihlein

Memorial Garden

TRIANGLE GARDEN sponsored by The Cottage

 

ADOPT-A-HIGHWAY

Meet at Simply Gourmet parking lot, 2099 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid.

Bring gloves. Long pants and sturdy shoes recommended.

MEETING: John Brown Farm

Plant/Arrangement Swap

Hors d'ouvres provided, BYOB

Guest or spouse welcome

Chair: Anita Cooney

JULY

WORKSHOP: Elderwood at Uihlein

"Red, White and Blue" theme

Bring hand clippers.

GCLP FLOAT

Join GC members, family members, friends and children in the

festivities of the annual Lake Placid Parade down Main Street. 

Meet at Cummings Road, Olympic Center, at 4:30 PM.

*R Monday, July 1

Call/email Chair Claire Thayer to participate

518-523-3559/524-7530; thayerslp@gmail.com

TOUR OF WIGMORE GARDENS (Saranac Lake)

Carpool - meet at 1:00 PM at Hannaford parking lot

Guest or spouse welcome

*R Friday, July 5

Chair: Mary Merrill

MEETING: Joint program with Adirondack Garden Club

at Convention Center

Plastics - The Trash That Won't Go Away

Speaker: Judith Enck, former Regional EPA Administrator and current adjunct professor at Bennington College

Presentation will be about 50 minutes followed by break-out sessions.

Lemonade and iced tea provided

Other items may be purchased at Medalist Cafe - 2nd floor between rinks.

*R Monday, July 1

TRIANGLE GARDEN sponsored by The Interlaken

AUGUST

CRUISE to two lakeside gardens on Placid Lake from Harbor Marina. $20

Maximum 40 people

*R$

TRIANGLE GARDEN sponsored by Liquids and Solids

SEPTEMBER

MEETING: shared with ZONTA CLUB

at Heaven Hill 

Bring your own utensils (see July 16 theme)

Bring live, silk or dried arrangement to swap

Members - $10, BYOB

*R$ Wednesday, September 4

Hostess: Carol Fox

TRIANGLE GARDEN sponsored by Great Adirondack Brewing Co. with Steak and Seafood

SUMMIT WHITEFACE MT.

Arrange private, local carpooling or meet at gatehouse at 12:30 PM(Cars must be filled for complimentary ascent.)

Lunch on your own at Castle.

Stop at information stations on way down.

Early registration for complimentary participation.

*R Friday, September 20

Chair: Judy Shea

 

OCTOBER

Memorial Garden: Elderwood at Uihlein

Clean-up for winter

ADOPT-A-HIGHWAY

Meet at Simply Gourmet parking lot, 2099 Saranac Avenue, Lake Placid.

Bring gloves. Long pants and sturdy shoes recommended.

 

WORKSHOP: Elderwood at Uihlein

Autumn arrangements

Bring hand clippers.

MEETING:  Pumpkin floral arrangements

Nancy Master's garage, 516 Mirror Lake Drive

Early registration for participation

*R Friday, October 11

Chair: Carol Fox

TRIANGLE GARDEN sponsored by Redneck Bistro

NOVEMBER

WORKSHOP: Elderwood at Uihlein

Thanksgiving theme

Bring hand clippers.

MEETING: Crowne Plaza lunch $21

and Do-it-Yourself arrangement

Antonia Asa-Thomas, Price Chopper floral designer

Bring small container or red/green pepper as well as greens.

*R$ Friday, November 15

WORKSHOP: Swag making at Speed Skating Shack on Oval

Bring hand clippers.

*R Thursday, November 14

Chairs: Cherise Bailey Bixler/Sally Urban

DECEMBER

Christmas Party at Wiseguys on School St.

Cash bar, catered hors d'oeuvres

Guest or spouse encouraged.

WORKSHOP: Elderwood at Uihlein

Christmas theme

Bring hand clippers.

©2019 Garden Club of Lake Placid

 

CALENDAR 2019